Interactive Bar

Google Services







Burscough Village

Primary School

Striving for the future

Get in touch

Contact Details

Social Media

Our Curriculum


The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS) consists of three prime areas: Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED), Physical Development (PD), Communication and Language (CL). The curriculum also consists of four specific areas: Literacy (L), Mathematics (M), Understanding the World (UTW) and Expressive Arts and Design (EAD) . The curriculum is delivered through play and exploration allowing children to develop the Characteristics of Effective Learning (CofEL). The three Characteristics of  Effective learning: Active Learning, Playing and exploring, Creating and Thinking Critically are important for children to develop through independent play. Additional phonics and maths is taught daily along with handwriting and P.E. 


All  learning is fun and exciting - we play and learn at the same time. The children access the foundation stage curriculum by choosing from our enticing continuous provision and are encouraged to join in with planned adult led activities. Learning outdoors is important and access to the garden and mud kitchen is encouraged every day, in all weathers. 


Please see the termly curriculum planners for details on topics and coverage. 

Development Matters yearly overview